Ashley High School Athletics



Boy’s Varsity finish up 11th out of 24 teams in the Championship Race while the Girl’s take 6th out of 27 teams in the Varsity Race.
The Screaming Eagles Cross Country teams were in action this past weekend at UNCW competing in the adidas Seahawk Invitational. The athletes couldn’t ask for better conditions to run in as the teams hung in the 60’s until the 1st race. 1st up was the Boy’s Championship Race and in a field of 23 teams the Eagles were able to finish in 11th Place and were lead by Senior Joseph Harty who laid down a personal best time of 16:54 taking 25th Place. Joseph was also the fastest finisher from Wilmington, edging out Hoggard’s #1 and #2 and his teammate Stephen Wilson who finished in hot pursuit at 27th Place with a 17:02. The 3rd fastest Eagle was Daniel Lancaster in 58th Place with a 17:31, Will Mayo was 73rd with a 17:56, Chris Avery was 98th with a 18:32, Ryle Smith was 123rd with a 19:12 and David Fletchner was 137th with a 20:02.
The next race for the Eagles was the Junior Varsity Race. In this race the boys finished in 9th out of 27 teams and were lead by sophomore Cody Benton who finished the race in 6thPlace with a season nest time of 18:07. Cody was followed by Connor Snow who set a personal best time of 19:24 and was 40th, Nash Best was 56th with a 19:47, Adam Ortega was 81st with a 20:30, Thomas Avery was 89th with a personal best time of 20:50, twin bother James Avery was 104th also with a personal best time of 21:12, and Nathan Mercer was 106th with a 21:15.
In the boys Developmental Race the Eagles were 7th out of 14 teams and was lead by sophomore Jeffery Hubbard in 27th Place with a personal best time of 20:56. He was followed by: freshman Nathan Ovall 41st with a personal best time of 21:29, Nick Galonka was 56th with a season best time of 21:59, Rodrick Allen was 72 with a time of 22:31, Marshall Skelton 82nd 22:55, freshman George Malahias was 85th with a 23:07, Peter Vogiatzis 88th personal best of 23:11, Ian Reichow 106th with a personal best time of 23:56, Dylan Secero 112th 24:01, Cameron Seyer 144th 26:33, Ritchie Bland was 155th with a time of 29:11, Alex Signorello 158th 29:16, and Chris Johnson with a personal best time of 31:46.